Only those authorized to travel by state governments are permitted: says Indian Railway

    Indian Railways announced on Sunday that there would only be special trains operated by the state governments for transporting migrant workers, pilgrims, tourists, students, and other persons stranded at various places. It clarified that passenger trains remain suspended during regular operation.

by Nithiya

Updated: May 03, 2020 15:27 IST

Article continues below advertisement

Indian Railways to permit only authorized state governments. 

It clarified that there remains suspension for a normal passenger train run. "Railways accept only State governments' passengers," the Railways Ministry said in a statement. "No other traveler groups or persons may come to the station. At no station are tickets sold. Railways operate no other train than that requested by the government, "he added.

It also urged people not to come unnecessarily to the railway stations because, according to Government orders, every other train is suspended until May 17.

Indian Railways began operating "Shramik Special" trains on Friday in order to transport them to their home countries. "Zonal railways run these trains as requested by the government—coordinate local DMs and DRMs. The zonal CPROs "Indian Railways stated in a statement can obtain specific details.

On Friday, it operated six trains to carry more than 7,000 persons, including stranded laborers, pilgrims, tourists, and students from Maharashtra, Telangana, Kerala, and Rajasthan. Protection Status