This day in 2007: Australia completed hat-trick of World Cup titles

On this day, the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup final was played at the Kensington Oval, Barbados. In that final match, Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs and won their 4th World Cup and 3rd in succession.

by Roselet Sheena Merli

Updated: Apr 28, 2020 15:43 IST

Article continues below advertisement

2007 ICC Cricket World Cup Final

The Australian men's cricket team completed a historic record on 28 April 2007 when they won their 4th ICC World Cup title by beating Sri Lanka in the summit clash at Bridgetown.

With that Ricky Ponting became only the second captain after West Indies legend Clive Lloyd to lift the trophy twice while Australia stretched their unbeaten run in the tournament to 29 matches since May 1999.

A hat-trick of World Cup wins for Australia!

ICC remembered the huge step achieved by the Australian team and took Instagram to express the country's achievement.

Captioned #OnThisDay in 2007, Ricky Ponting's side beat Sri Lanka in the ICC Cricket World Cup final by 53 runs on DLS method. This was Australia's third straight CWC title and fourth overall ????" posted ICC. It also said, "Player of the Match Adam Gilchrist smashed a ???? 104-ball 149."

A post shared by ICC (@icc) on

In that match, Adam Gilchrist produced a special performance on the big day as Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs via D/L method in the rain-curtailed final. Australia clinched their 3rd World Cup in a row and defended the title for the second time in succession. Protection Status